Share Your Story: Stephanie Bryan

Back from exams and we have a new series: Share Your Story. Joining us today will be Stephanie Bryan from stephaniemakes who will be sharing her crafty story with us.

What was your very first project? My very first memory keeping project was actally a Project Life album for my daughter. I stumbled across Becky Higgin’s Project Life system one afternoon and was immediately sold! It was a pretty simple album – just pictures and words, but it is so priceless to have those memories captured! Now I’m on my third year of PL and I still love as much as I did in the beginning!

Image

To date, what is your favourite project? Or the one you are most proud of? Hmmmm.. that’s a tough one! I think every project, layout and mini album is my favourite after I finish it! I love being able to stand back and see a completed project. But I think the projects that include some kind of mixed media are my favourite. I really enjoy just playing around and creating!

This is a layout I created for some of the NSD challenges at Two Peas in a Bucket. The challenge was ‘focus on photos’ – I went a little crazy with black and white photos, as you can see, but I love the way it turned out! I actually think I’m going to hang it up in my son’s room!

That is a gorgeous and unique layout, Stephanie! I think my favourite project of yours is the Love Letters mini album!

Image

Who/what is your inspiration? I think my inspiration comes from all over the place.  Sometimes ideas just come to me after I look over some paper or embellishments, or sometimes I turn to design magazine and decor magazines for inspiration!  And obviously Pinterest!!  Tons of inspiration on there for sure!!

What are your top five favourite products? Let’s see… ANY embellishment, 6×6 paper pads, watercolours, mists and my sewing machine!

What is that one technique/product you have not tried yet but want to? Using molding paste on a background is next on my to-do list!

Who do you look up to, as your scrapbooking idol? Wilna Fustenberg is probably my biggest inspiration. I always drool over her lovely work. I love how her layouts and projects are so dreamy and beautiful. But what I think I love most about her is that she is so creative and ‘isn’t scared’ to step out of her comfort zone. I recently just finished up her amazing art class at Two Peas in a Bucket. I highly recommend this class for anyone interested in learning new and creative ways to make your projects little ‘pieces of art’.

What is the newest product you have your eye on? I’m really loving ‘The Pier’ collection from Crate Paper! It looks so beautiful and summer-y!

You are on the Colour Combos Galore DT; what colour schemes do you like to use? Is there any specific colour/scheme that usually finds it way into your projects? I love being on the Colour Combos DT! Its so fun to just grab some colours and ideas and start playing around! And I love that the really are no restrictions when it somes to product! It’s just great o let your mind go crazy and create! These are some of my favourites from the CCG challenges…

Image

As for colours, right now I am loving everything pink! I think I have probably created about 15 pink layouts in the past few weeks. There is just something about that soft colour that makes everything seem beautiful and dreamy!

Image

What do you like to do, besides scrapbooking? I am a home-body so I love being at home with my family! We spend lots of time in our backyard just goofing around, which is fun on any day! Other than that, I love to cook, take pictures, read and run!

What would a typical day in your life be like? Crazy! Can I say that? I have a four year old and a two year old and they keep me pretty busy! I feel like I spend most of my ‘weekdays’ in my car driving my two kiddos around to all the different places and activities they are involved in! If we are at home, you can usually find me in the kitchen, in my craft room or on the floor with my kids!

Thank you for sharing your story with us, Stephanie; your work is absolutely amazing! We hope you will join us again sometime in the future!

Leave a Reply

