SUMMER GOAL #567643: Watch One Ghibli Film A Day

I don’t remember what my first Ghibli film was except that it was one of these three: Kiki’s Delivery Service, Howl’s Moving Castle and Spirited Away. What I do remember is that all three were absolutely lovely and had a strange charm that seems to draw so many people in.

Studio Ghibli is a Japanese animation studio based in Tokyo, Japan.  The studio is best known for its anime feature films. Studio Ghibli began in June 1985 after the success of Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind with funding by Tokuma Shoten. The company’s logo features the character Totoro (a large forest spirit) from Miyazaki’s film My Neighbor Totoro. The studio has produced nineteen feature films, several short films, television commercials and a television film.

This summer, I’ve decided to watch all the Ghibli films I possibly can. And I’m excited to share this journey, here on my blog. I will be watching one film per day (hopefully). The films I have already seen (the three I mentioned in the beginning) I shall watch in the end. So, here’s to nineteen days of whimsical creatures, spirits and Ghibli.

Here’s a list of the films I will be watching: (I’ll be ticking them off as I watch)

My Neighbor Totoro

Castle in the Sky

Grave of the Fireflies

Only Yesterday

Porco Rosso

Pom Poko

Whisper of the Heart

Princess Mononoke

My Neighbors the Yamadas

The Cat Returns

Tales from Earthsea

Ponyo

Arrietty

From Up On Poppy Hill

The Wind Rises

The Tales of Princess Kaguya

Leave a Reply

